RECORDING: Syncing Akai MPD Note Repeat to Reaper

Hey guys… in between naps as I am very ill today, I synced all three of my Akai MPD models (MPD18, MPD26, MPD32) to Reaper, perfectly… so Note Repeat works as it should.

Here’s how it’s done.

On the MPD26/32… go into Global settings… hit the right arrow a bunch of times until you reach MIDI CLOCK. Set it to EXTERNAL.

For the MPD18, you’ll need the MPD editing software, as that’s the only way to edit midi notes and the midi clock setting. Make sure it is set the same way.

Now go into Reaper’s Preferences.

Find the MIDI DEVICES tab, and enable MIDI output for your MPD by right-clicking the device name in the MIDI Output section (Windows XP users more than likely will see “USB Audio Device”, which is the generic name for the MPD series.) Now right-click the device name again, and select “Send clock/SPP to output”.

Note Repeat will not work unless Reaper is in Playback or Record mode (as in, the timeline/cursor is moving).

Assuming you set everything right, it works perfectly. I tested it on three different systems (Windows 7 x64, Windows XP SP3, and Windows 7 32-bit).

About chriscaulder

music.film.books.food.sleep.

Posted on April 2, 2013, in hip-hop production, Reaper, recording. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Cheers Chris, after getting my MPD26 I was wondering how this was set up, it makes sense now as I didn’t even think of the global setting as it’s been a long time since I used any sort of hardware. It’s a nice little controller & so much nicer tapping beats out, I’m now trying to move all my midi work into reaper also as I was using a combo of two progs before & mixing the audio in Reaper, but I reckon I can forsake that, using ShortCircuit in reaper to manage it all in the same program & not have to flit between two when an edit needs to be made later in the process. Thanks again for this. Steve.

Leave a Reply

