SONGWRITING: Finish. Things. Now.

Had a brief conversation with my friend the other day…

me: “I can’t finish anything. I’m really concerned about what people think… even though I say I don’t. I’m afraid they’ll be like ‘man, I hate these lyrics’…. ‘his voice is just mediocre’….. ‘this song is just lame’….. ‘he’s trying too hard’……”

him: “You have to say ‘fuck it’. It doesn’t matter. It’ll hold you back forever if you don’t just put it out. You want that shit sitting on your hard drive, forever? What the hell’s the point of writing it, in the first place? Get it out. Life’s short.”

He’s right. It’s hard, though. But don’t be me, man. Don’t have 800+ unfinished ideas (yes, there have been about 300 added, since I last wrote about unfinished songs… I think the number I mentioned was 500 last time). That’s how lazy I can be about this, and “protective” of it. So stupid. Such a waste…..

If I can’t finish all this stuff this year (and I’m certainly trying), then I am the biggest loser…. but if I can finish at least most of it, then I did right.

Don’t be like so many other people out there… over-protective, scared of what people think, too afraid to announce you released something on bandcamp. Just get it done, and stop making excuses.

Another thing that made me think about this– Ted Demme, director of Blow and Beautiful Girls, died at age 37 of a heart attack, in early 2002. Imagine what else he could have accomplished, had he been in better shape, and had he not wasted a lot of time. Two of the most amazing movies of the 90s and 00s… he helped put Natalie Portman on the map (in addition to her role in the Professional, of course)… but yeah. Two movies. That’s all he’ll really be remembered for. Do you want to go out like that?

I’m a year older than Ted Demme, as I write this. I survived him by one year, and I haven’t done jack shit, in the grand scheme of things.

Don’t go out like that, friends.

About chriscaulder

music.film.books.food.sleep.

Posted on February 26, 2015, in songwriting, wasting time. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

